Excellence in Age Services Awards 2020 – state and territory winners

LASA is proud to announce the state and territory winners of the excellence in age services awards 2020, putting a spotlight on those who work tirelessly to care for older Australians.


The 19 winners – including individuals, teams and organisations – were singled out for their outstanding contribution to the age services industry, using their passion, drive and initiative to improve the lives of older people.


The five categories of award – organisation award, team award, individual award, rising star award and next gen young leader award – received hundreds of nominations, with 56 finalists across SA/NT, NSW/ACT, QLD AND WA.


A new category this year, the next gen young leader award was created to acknowledge talented current and emerging leaders in the industry who are under the age of 40.


LASA CEO Sean Rooney says the calibre of winners and finalists demonstrates the heart of aged care employees, for whom caring for older people is not just a job, but a vocation.


“Our winners demonstrate how passion for others and going the extra mile, can lead to innovations and true personal connections, to help Australians age well,” said Mr Rooney.


“We are extremely fortunate in Australia to have such a caring and dedicated workforce, who put the wellbeing of older Australians at the forefront of everything they do, every day.”


“It is incredibly fitting to make this announcement on aged care employee day, because every one of them deserves our thanks and gratitude.”


The new award winners join the five previously announced winners for victoria/tasmania.


The LASA excellence in age services awards aims to promote and recognise excellence across the diverse and dynamic fields of endeavour in the age services industry.


LASA thanks HESTA for their continued generous sponsorship of these awards.


This announcement is made in conjunction with Aged Care Employee Day on 7 August, a national campaign to acknowledge the role of aged care workers in the lives of our older people, by saying #ThanksforCaring. More information about the day is at www.agedcareday.com.au


SA/NT Winners

  • Individual Award – Keyur Anand, St. Anna’s Residential Care Facility
  • Team Award – The Maintenance Team, The Willochra Home
  • Organisation Award – Helping Hand
  • Next Gen Young Leader Award – Tom Gray,  Xtra AgedCare


QLD Winners

  • Individual Award – Chezz Thompson, Bolton Clarke
  • Team Award – Let’s Dig in Team, Bolton Clarke
  • Organisation Award – Communify Queensland
  • Rising Star Award – John Sisson, Churches of Christ in Queensland
  • Next Gen Young Leader Award – Jamie Langdon, Benevolent Living


NSW/ACT Winners

  • Individual Award – Ben Van Lierop, RSL LifeCare
  • Team Award – Shoalhaven and Eurobodalla Aged Care Centre Teams – IRT Group
  • Organisation Award – KinCare
  • Rising Star Award – Kathy White, RSL LifeCare
  • Next Gen Young Leader Award – Simon Kerrigan, Guide Healthcare


WA Winners

  • Individual Award – Helen Nowlan, Compatible Care Nursing Services
  • Team Award – Collaborative Leadership Model, Maurice Zeffert Home (Inc)
  • Organisation Award – ECHO
  • Rising Star Award – Hadja Sow, ECHO
  • Next Gen Young Leader Award – Gabriela Di Perna, MercyCare


8 August 2020.