New quality standards for aged care

New single Aged Care Quality Standards will better protect senior Australians and further promote responsibility and accountability for their care.


The boards and governing bodies of aged care providers will be clearly accountable for their consumers’ safety and quality of care.


Providers delivering clinical care will be mandated to maintain quality clinical frameworks including infection control, open disclosure to consumers, their families and representatives, and minimising the use of restraint.


Quality care provision will be paramount, with aged care providers required to prove their care and services are safe, effective and focussed on their consumers, including through unannounced visits.


Providers must work hand-in-hand with consumers, their families, and representatives on the delivery of quality services and the management of their day-to-day care.


The new Aged Care Quality Standards cover:

  • Consumer dignity and choice
  • Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  • Personal care and clinical care
  • Services and supports for daily living
  • Organisation’s service environment
  • Feedback and complaints
  • Human resources
  • Organisational governance.

Adherence to each Standard requires:

  • A statement of outcome for the consumer
  • A statement of expectation for the organisation
  • Requirements to demonstrate the standard has been met.


Transition to the new single set of Aged Care Quality Standards is presently underway, with full implementation from 1 July 2019.


The single Aged Care Quality Standards replaces the four previous sets of aged care standards. The new Standards have been developed through significant consultation and co-design with the aged care sector.


The new Standards will be enforced by the new Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission when it comes into force on 1 January 2019.


The Federal Government is distributing $50 million to residential aged care providers to support them in transitioning to the new Standards.


The new Standards will apply to all aged care services including residential care, home care, flexible care, and services delivered under the Commonwealth Home Support Program.


Further information about the new Standards is available from the Department of Health’s website -


28 November 2018.