Social security agreement with India

A new social security agreement between Australia and India is now in force, making retirement easier for residents of both countries.


Minister for Social Services, Christian Porter said, “This agreement will give people more freedom to move between Australia and India, knowing their pension rights will be recognised and protected.


“Australian residents living in India will be able to claim the Australian Age Pension without having to return to Australia, while Indian residents living in Australia will have access to Indian retirement pensions. It’s a win-win.”


Temporarily seconded workers, and their employers, will only have to make compulsory contributions into their home country’s superannuation or pension system rather than both countries’ systems. 397,000 Indian-born people live in Australia.


Australia now has 30 international social security agreements around the world to support people living and working in more than one country.


The agreements are with Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Malta, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland and the USA.


See all of Australia's social security agreements at


8 January 2016.