Aged Care Quality Advisory Council announced

The Assistant Minister for Social Services, Senator Mitch Fifield, has announced the membership of the Aged Care Quality Advisory Council.


The Advisory Council will provide some advice to the Minister on request and the CEO of the Aged Care Quality Agency.


The Australian Aged Care Quality Agency was established on 1 January 2014 as part of broader aged care changes, and is responsible for quality assurance across the aged care sector.


In accordance with the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency Act 2013 (Part 4 Section 30) functions of the Advisory Council are:

(a) on its own initiative, to provide advice to the CEO in relation to the CEO’s functions; and

(b) at the request of the CEO, to provide advice to the CEO in relation to the CEO’s functions; and

(c) at the request of the Minister, to provide advice to the Minister in relation to the operations of the Quality Agency and matters relating to the performance of the CEO’s functions.


Members of the Advisory Council are:

  • Ms Andrea Coote (Chair)

  • Ms Carol Bennett

  • Dr Matthew Cullen

  • Associate Professor Rosanna Capolingua

  • Dr Stephen Judd

  • Mr Paul Sadler

  • Mr Ian Yates

  • Ms Rae Lamb (ex officio)

Ms Andrea Coote served as Parliamentary Secretary for Families and Community Services in the Victorian Government between 2010 and 2014. She has also served as Shadow Minister for Ageing and Carers, and was a member of the Victorian Parliament’s inquiry into child abuse. She brings a wealth of government experience and insight into community services policy to her role as Chair of the Advisory Council.


Ms Carol Bennett is CEO of Alzheimer’s Australia. Carol has been CEO of some of Australia’s leading health organisations including the Consumers Health Forum of Australia, the Australian Rural and Remote Workforce Agencies Group and the Victorian Alcohol and Drug Association.

Dr Matthew Cullen is the Managing Director of Tonic Health Media and a practicing psychiatrist. He was recently part of the Group Executive for Medibank Health Solutions, and the Deputy Chair and Director at the Schizophrenia Research Institute.


Associate Professor Rosanna Capolingua is a practicing GP and Practice Principal of Floreat Medical. She was Federal President of the AMA between 2007 and 2009 and AMA (WA) State President between 1998 and 2000.


Dr Stephen Judd has been Chief Executive of HammondCare since 1995. He has previously held Director positions on a number of bodies including Aged Care Services (NSW & ACT) and Community Council for Australia. He has written, edited and contributed to books on dementia care and aged care design.


Mr Paul Sadler is the CEO of Presbyterian Aged Care NSW & ACT. He has previously held roles at Aged & Community Services NSW & ACT. Mr Sadler also currently sits on the boards of Australian Health Institute, Australian Association of Gerontology and the Retirement Villages Advisory Council.


Mr Ian Yates AM is the Chief Executive of Council on the Ageing (COTA). Ian serves as COTA representative on the Aged Care Sector Committee, the Aged Care Financing Authority and the National Aged Care Alliance. He was a Director of the Aged Care Standards and Accreditation Agency Ltd.


Ms Rae Lamb is Australia’s Aged Care Commissioner.


23 February 2015.